Skip to content

“I don’t think I’ve ever drunk champagne before breakfast before. With breakfast on several occasions, but never before, before.”

October 30, 2009

– Paul

“Did I tell you how divinely and utterly happy I am?” – Holly

“You could always tell what kind of a person a man thinks you are by the earrings he gives you. I must say, the mind reels.” – Holly

“Holly, you’re drunk.” – Paul  “True.” – Holly

“I’ll never let ANYBODY put me in a cage.” – Holly  “I don’t want to put you in a cage, I want to love you!” – Paul

“But just look at the goodies she brought with her.” – Holly   “He’s all right, I suppose, if you like dark, handsome, rich-looking men with passionate natures and too many teeth.” – Paul

“It’s useful being top banana in the shock department.” – Holly

I think I first fell in love with Breakfast at Tiffany’s long before I even saw the movie.  I was an avid Gossip Girl reader since the very beginning, and since Blair’s hero was Holly, I figured that she must be a truly fabulous gal to look up to.

I’ve since seen the movie many, many times, and with each viewing I fall more in love with the mysterious, fun-loving, and glamorous Holly.  With a secret past and an endless supply of fabulous little black dresses and foreign suitors, Holly is the type of classy that I long to be.  While she has her issues, she is a girl who knows style, charisma, and how to weasel a $50 bill out of yet another “rat”.

It is for these very reasons that when I was debating what my Halloween costume should be that Holly and her jewelry obsession popped into my head.  I’ve had a bad year due to my last Halloween adventure (ambulance ride, brain and ear drum damage, depression, a forced semester away from school…) but now I’m ready to turn it all around and start this holiday off the right way.  It’ll be a form-fitting black dress, chic ballet flats, and big sunglasses for this girl, with no unplanned visits to the hospital or police station.

What are your plans for Halloween?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 12:51 am

    favorite movie. favorite actress. best costume idea ever. take pics! i hope this halloween is much better than the last, and safe and fun!

    xoxo
    Lo

  2. October 30, 2009 4:23 pm

    You are going to look so great!! Take pictures??

    I’m rocking a bumble bee-striped dress w/ sparkly wings and some antennas on a headband! Ha, it’s entertaining enough :)

  3. November 4, 2009 2:00 pm

    I love this movie…my whole room is filled with her photos. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

