Skip to content

dregs

December 17, 2009

For breakfast this morning, I decided to use up the dregs of some things that had been sitting in the house for a while.  For some reason, I get an incredible amount of satisfaction from finishing a container off, whether it be scraping the bottom of the peanut butter jar to draining the bottle of Diet Coke.  This morning I experienced this feeling a wondrous three times.

I started my bowl with the last soy yogurt in the fridge.  I had bought this when I was home for Thanksgiving and I was very happy to find that it was still nice and fresh.  This stuff has taken a while to grow on me, and while it really isn’t anything like real yogurt, it has a nice creamy texture that I haven’t been able to find in other places.

I set my last piece of homemade vegan pumpkin pie on top.  I had made this recipe from the Fat Free Vegan’s site for Thanksgiving, and since I knew none of my family members were huge fans of it, I froze the last of it while I was away at school.  It had a nice creamy texture and it’s savory flavor was a nice contrast to the tang of the yogurt.

Yesterday I was reorganizing our cupboards to fit our Costco haul (it was my dad’s first time going, and he was pretty much a kid in a candy store – between the bulk candy and slabs of meat  [gross and grosser] he was pretty impressed with it all) and I found this mystery bag.  These little balls were a subtle peanut butter flavor and added some much-needed crunch to my breakfast.

Paired with a big mug of green tea and a side of melon, this breakfast of dregs was pretty phenomenal.  I’m a big fan of using up what you have in the fridge and I find that some of the most random pairings are often the most creative and delicious.  Have you made any strange but brilliant food lately?

[|]

Today my mom is off doing Christmas prep so I have the house to myself.  It’s rather refreshing to have a little quiet time after being reintroduced to the crazy family dynamic.  It’s a huge contrast to my study-intensive college life and for now I really like the hustle and bustle of everyone’s schedule.  Hopefully I can make it through a month of it without feeling like I have no space or privacy – that’s the biggest downside of this whole living with the parents thing.

Today I’m going to try to workout a bit inside since it’s like 14 F with windchill out there, and then once my brother gets home from school we’re going to start on our Harry Potter marathon [yes, we’re dorks].  The library had the first 5 movies and our goal is to get through all of them in a week so that we can return them on time.  Wish us luck!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 1:07 pm

    Pie for breakfast? Yes, please!

    Most of my fod is pretty strange (I think)…

  2. Gabriela permalink
    December 17, 2009 5:51 pm

    I just stumbled across your blog and I have to tell you how great a writer you are…your posts are great to read! I’ve found that most of my weird food combinations involve hummus or peanut butter. I praise the day I used PB on top of whole wheat pasta, and I never mix tuna with anything but hummus anymore :)

    By the way, I actually went to CMU last year but ended up transferring out…small world!

  3. December 17, 2009 8:34 pm

    I love using up the dregs of ANYTHING. It makes me feel like I’m not wasting what I buy, especially when it comes to food. :)

    I haven’t made any strange but brilliant food in forever unless you count my stir-fry that contained cinnamon. But I wouldn’t count it as it didn’t fall into the “brilliant” category. Maybe one day, when I finally get the hang of making stir-fries.

  4. December 17, 2009 9:55 pm

    Haha, I’d like to think I make strange but brilliant food every day.
    Today was less brilliant and less strange. Just an avocado, green apple, cream cheese, and provolone sandwich. Bo-ring.

Leave a Reply

