Skip to content

the search for warmth

December 18, 2009

Today is a rare sunshine filled day in Vermont.  The catch?  The temperature is in the single digits and I don’t even want to know what the wind chill brings it down to.  It’s so deceiving – it looks so nice and pleasant out, but as soon as you open the front door, an icy burst greets you and you have no choice but to quickly retreat back inside.

So on this ridiculously cold day I opted for a nice warm bowl of oats.  I may have had a little explosion in the microwave, but that’s what I get for being impatient and not cooking them on the stove.

I added sliced banana, cinnamon raisin peanut butter, and Kashi Go Lean.  A giant mug of black tea helped warm me right up.  I have to go to the store at some point and pick up a few new tea flavors – I’ve been downing cups like crazy and have quickly depleted the house’s stash of caffeinated tea.  I’m open to suggestions for trying out new tea flavors.

After lunch today I am going to venture out into the cold and try to complete my Christmas shopping.  I’m pretty much done with it all, but I have a few odds and ends to pick up to round out my gifts.  It will be my first trip to Burlington after a long time away from it, and I’m excited to wander Church St with a warm cup of Uncommon Grounds coffee.

How do you stay warm when it’s ridiculously cold outside? I try to avoid leaving the house, but occasionally a girl needs to shop.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 3:38 pm

    You get sun but freezing temperatures, I get dreary clouds and mild temperatures. To he honest, I’m not sure which (if either) is better.. haha.

    When it’s ridiculously cold out, I try extremely hard to stay inside and curled up in a blanket with an enormous fire burning. If my dad doesn’t start a fire and I’m too lazy than I just have the blanket and I do my thing while feeling slightly sorry for myself. I really shouldn’t complain though, it doesn’t get THAT cold here.

  2. December 18, 2009 4:43 pm

    Mmm, that’s my kind of breakfast!

    I get made fun of for this, but I carry a hot water bottle around the house with me and sleep with it when it’s cold out. Very cozy!

Leave a Reply

