Skip to content

so sweet

December 20, 2009

I wish I could say that it’s warmed up a bit.  It hasn’t.  However, I’m attempting to stay warm by spending some time in the kitchen baking.

Last night I whipped up Mama Pea’s vegan sugar cookie recipe.  I let the dough sit in the fridge overnight and then my brother and I had some fun using cookie cutters and decorating them before lunch today.

We were a little limited with our decorating options, so we worked with sprinkles, cinnamon, and chocolate chips.  The little men are supposed to have belly buttons, not some other anatomically correct body part that my parents thought we were making.  Come on, people, it’s Christmas, not a bachelorette party.

I’ve also lost count of how many giant mugs of tea I have had so far. 6, 7, maybe?  I have no idea, but cuddling hot liquid is one of the few things that is keeping me going.  I opened up a new tea variety today, Sugar Plum Spice.  

I’d had pretty high expectations for it since it’s a member of the Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride family, and it was pretty good.  It was rather fruity and sweet with just a tiny hint of spice.  And it kept my fingers from going numb, so that’s always a perk.

We finally went and picked out our Christmas tree today.  I think we’re pretty late in getting ready for Christmas – or not?  When does your house start to show its holiday cheer?

Stay warm!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 6:15 pm

    Probably the best looking sugar cookies I’ve ever seen. Haha. They’re so random that I can’t help but find them amusing.. and I never thought that the belly button was anything else.. ;)

    My house probably won’t show any holiday cheer this year. I mean, the decorations and stuff are finally up but it’s just.. no one’s into Christmas this year. At all.

  2. December 21, 2009 5:09 pm

    Cute cookies! I was just thinking yesterday that I should have put some fancier decorations on mine… chocolate chips are genius.

    Glad you like the tea! So yummy.

  3. December 21, 2009 9:15 pm

    Mmm, those cookies look great! I haven’t done any baking yet but that shall change tomorrow! YES!

  4. December 21, 2009 11:03 pm

    cookies look great! and omg sugar plum tea!!! yeahh :0
    jenna

  5. December 23, 2009 12:09 am

    So that tea is only okay?? You have to try the celestial seasonings minty one ( i can’t remember the name, ahh…), I just adore it! Especially with some agave :)

    But aww those cookies are just adorable. And i’ll have you know that i assumed the placing of the chocolate chips read BELLY BUTTONS…and nothing else, hahahah

    Hope you’re enjoying the Christmas tree! My mom usually decorates our house within the first week of December, for a full month of holiday cheer!! :)

Leave a Reply

