Skip to content

chocolate & raspberry

December 22, 2009

Is there a better combination?  Maybe peanut butter and banana, but other than that, I don’t know of anything quite as delicious a pairing.

In preparation for my sister’s annual Christmukkah party (I’m a really nice sister, in case you were wondering) I made these Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies from Vegan With a Vengeance.  I’d never made them before, but I will definitely be making them again.  I used organic raspberry preserves as the topping – I highly recommend that you do, too.

My mom described them as being very similar to a devil dog.  Well, if you are eating a vegan devil dog with raspberry filling then I suppose they would be pretty much the same.

I really should be getting my beauty rest since tomorrow I have to drive down to Boston to pick up my sister from the airport.  She’s been in Panama for the last month and is finally coming home.  I haven’t seen her since August and more than happily agreed to take the 4 hour trip to see her before the rest of my family.  She’s been bragging via Skype about how tan she’s become and I know she wants to rub it in my face.  It’s OK though, because in a few weeks I’ll be on a cruise and will hopefully get a little color myself.

How do you feel about roadtrips?  Are you excited to hit the open road or do you hate being stuck in a vehicle for a long period of time?  I love it when other people are driving and I can just nap for hours and hours until we finally reach our destination.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 10:55 am

    Hey!! I’m glad your liking mah blog :D Yay for matching names, palindromes are the bomb! I added you to my Google reader as well :)

    I am so weird about chocolate and raspberry. I always think I’m gonna hate it or something, but then I eat something with chocolate and raspberry and love it. Odd…
    Also: road trips are the best, especially when you’re not driving. I could contemplate life while sitting in the car forever

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:48 am

    Hey i’m new to your blog and wanted to tell you i love it, can’t wait to read more! Those cookies look yummy…i’ve never heard of a devil dog though! Hope your sis’s party is fun!

  3. December 22, 2009 6:56 pm

    Oh.. I want one! Those look amazing, especially with the raspberry on top.

    I LOVE roadtrips! Love, love, love. I’m even considering going on one this summer for about a week, possibly by myself. So excited! Have fun on yours. :)

Leave a Reply

