Skip to content

grace potter + the nocturnals

December 27, 2009

I feel like I’m so lucky to have had the chance to see this band for the third time in a year.

I spent New Year’s Eve 2008 with them in South Burlington, saw them in Pittsburgh, and introduced my brother to their music last night at Higher Ground.

There aren’t many bands that I would continue to shell out money for after seeing them twice, but the magic and music that they create is well worth all of it.

I’m not quite sure how to describe their music.  It has some country influences, and incredible guitar licks and organ pounding.  Grace Potter could melt your heart with her soaring vocals.  Seeing them live is pretty much mind blowing.  Really.  Mind blowing.

There aren’t many things in life that are better than an incredible show where you dance for hours and feel like time hasn’t passed.

What’s the most amazing show you’ve ever seen?

I really recommend that you check out Stop the Bus and Mastermind.  They have a new album coming out in 2010 that should be life changing.  You can bet I’ll actually pay for that one.

All photos are from the band’s photo gallery.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    December 27, 2009 11:48 am

    I’ll have to check them out, sounds cool! The most amazing show I’ve seen was called the Bridge School Benefit, it’s this annual fundraiser concert put on by Neil Diamond and his wife, held outdoors. They invite lots of big names (the list changes every year) and they all play acoustic sets. The year I went we saw jack johnson (i’m mildly obsessed with him) the smashing pumpkins, norah jones, wilco, cat power, and josh groban (lol!) It was so fun.

  2. December 27, 2009 5:47 pm

    I’m always looking for new music and love when I discover something that just blows me away so I’ll for sure be checking them out.

    As for my favorite show.. I have none. It’s sad, I know! So far I’ve only been to 2 concerts and although they were.. enjoyable in their own way, they weren’t anything extremely special. At least not to me they weren’t.

    And Anna? Thank you for your comment yesterday. My dad who I’m not close with actually commented today on how I looked happier. Your words helped contribute to this. :)

  3. December 28, 2009 11:51 am

    Thanks for turning me on to a new band! I’ll have to check them out… I am in desperate need of new music. LOVE those photos!

  4. February 12, 2010 8:21 am

    Haha, I’m a little way late on this post but Grace Potter used to be my sister’s best friend before we moved away. I remember her breaking our glass door–she was quite rambunctious. I can’t believe she’s a rockstar now.

  5. February 12, 2010 8:39 am

    OHMYGOD that’s awesome. I am seriously obsessed with her. She totally would break a door.

Leave a Reply

