Skip to content

happy birthday

December 28, 2009

to my mom!

Yesterday my mom turned 47.  To celebrate, she let me make her a vegan chocolate cake.  If you ever have a chance to make Vegan with a Vengeance’s chocolate raspberry black-out cake, I highly recommend that you do.

And those would be chocolate shavings scattered all over the glazed bundt cake.  I’m not that sloppy.

My mom is also a huge fan of boardgames, so we agreed to play one of her Christmas gifts: The Office edition of Clue.

My family has been a huge fan of The Office since the very first season aired, and this version of the game was a great homage to the TV show that we loved.  You probably remember the George Forman grill that caused great pain and many, many laughs.

Or the bat that spent some time in a trash bag on Meredith’s head.  That scene depicts what may actually be my greatest fear in life.

The game was a lot of fun and I loved the way the creators incorporated so much of the show’s plot and the characters’ personalities into play.

How do you feel about spin-offs?  Are you bothered when merchandisers take a classic game like Clue and change it?  And can I get a shout-out from all the fans of The Office out there?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 10:36 pm

    Happy Birthday to your momma!! That cake looks deliciously delicious.

    This is sort of blasphemous but.. I’ve yet to watch The Office. Haven’t even seen a single episode! Oops..

    I like spin-offs.. they can make things more fun. :)

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    December 28, 2009 11:14 pm

    office fan right here!! omg my brother and i are obsessed. that clue game is perfect, should have given it to him for xmas!!

  3. December 29, 2009 3:01 pm

    Love love LOVE the Office. That board game looks like a blasty :D

  4. December 29, 2009 3:07 pm

    I have never really gotten into the office, but My brother is obsessed! I think it’s fun when they make tv versions of your favorite game….now if only they would come out with a Gilmore girl game of some sort!…

  5. December 29, 2009 11:00 pm

    I just might adore The Office more than life itself. And I agree wholeheartedly about the scene with the bat. I can’t watch it without cringing. As a kid I was terrified of Clue…. Maybe I can convince my mom that her buying me The Office version of it would be a positive way of overcoming my childhood fear. She’s a therapist, so maybe she’s go for it.
    That cake = deliciousity in a photograph.

    Rachael*

  6. December 30, 2009 10:35 am

    Happy birthday to your mom! That cake looks like a fabulous way to celebrate… I’ve made a lot of Isa’s savory recipes and a few dessert bars, but it’s the CAKES that look amazing! Office edition of clue looks GENIUS.

  7. December 30, 2009 6:07 pm

    I LOVE spin-offs! Esp with classics like Clue and MOnopolies!
    That cake looks amazingly rich and delicious, too!

Leave a Reply

