Skip to content

bon voyage!

December 30, 2009

On New Year’s Day, my family is setting off on a vacation unlike anything we’ve undertaken ever before.  We’re driving down to Miami – from Vermont, mind you – and setting sail on a cruise to the Keys and Grand Caymen.  I realized that we hadn’t been on any sort of family vacation in years and since my siblings and I are all in various stages of adulthood, we won’t have an overlapping break for years, so this could be a once in a lifetime adventure.  We’re all really hoping that we survive the drive down, that the weather is pleasant, and that everything goes off without a hitch.

The plan is for us to actually need to wear sunglasses and high levels of SPF on Monday, as long as my brother’s passport arrives tomorrow, our minivan survives the 26 hour journey, and we don’t kill each other.

None of us have ever been on a cruise, either.  Does anyone have any words of advice or particularly strong warnings?  I think I’ve got my packing all completed (plenty of bikinis, Breton stripes, and sundresses), but would love to hear about any past experiences that could make ours go more smoothly!

And for now, I wish everyone a happy and safe New Year celebration.  Here’s to a new year, a new decade, and hopefully a tan!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    December 31, 2009 12:03 am

    HAVE FUN! That vacation sounds awesome, live it up!

  2. December 31, 2009 6:36 pm

    Happy New Year!!!

    The cruise will be so much fun! I’ve never been on one but I know it’ll be a blast. Good luck with not killing each other during the drive, I know my family would have difficulty with that too. Twenty-six hours sounds like torture. Err.. but I’m sure time will fly swiftly for you!

  3. December 31, 2009 7:51 pm

    Ahhh you are going to have the greatest time on the cruise!!!!!!! I’ve never been on one, myself…but hear that they’re extremely relaxing, indulgent and as fun as you wanna make it! Meaning it could be totally wild and crazy (hittin’ da bars when you go off short during the days) or totally relaxing (as in laying out, sleeping, eating delicious all-you-can-eat food and watching some live shows all the time) !!

    HAVE A SAFE TRIP! HAPPY NYE! XOXOXO

  4. December 31, 2009 10:43 pm

    I’m envious! I haven’t had a family vacation in years. It’ll probably be quite an adventure for you guys! Hope you don’t end up killing each other! ;-)

    Happy, Blessed, Joyful New Year!!

  5. January 5, 2010 12:31 pm

    Oh my goodness, what a fun trip! Have the BEST time and enjoy yourself. Can’t wait to hear about it when you get back!

Leave a Reply

