Skip to content

a declaration

January 25, 2010
tags: ,

[photos from TheCobraSnake]

I am so over house parties.

This weekend marked my first foray into the world of bars, beer pitchers, and random men spending money on you since you look nice. It was a wonderful change of pace from basement parties where your shoes get ruined because of some mysterious liquid that has coated the ground (really – why is the floor always soaked? Beer spills? Melting ice sculptures? Vomit? *shudder shudder shudder GROSS*) where boys who are barely old enough to shave take any opportunity to grind up on you while you awkwardly search for a good enough reason to ditch him.

I still love little gatherings with my good friends, pregaming with a bottle of cheap wine, winning a few games of beer pong, but I feel like I’m ready to go to the next level of adulthood. And while the state doesn’t quite agree with my level of maturity, I’m just over 3 months away from being totally legit so I don’t think it’s all that bad.

Where do you stand on this kind of socializing? Are you a PJ, popcorn, and a Gossip Girl marathon on a Friday night kind of girl? Keg stand queen? Designated Driver? Bar tender? Homework doer?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 11:34 am

    I’m with you on the frat party hating…I’ve always wondered why the floors are so gross, too :/

    I’m a “let’s go clubbing and have fun but then actually come home sober at 1 to get a good night’s sleep” kind of girl. Try as I might to be a party animal, I’m a little old grandma at heart. Have a great week!

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 25, 2010 12:00 pm

    ahhh house parties. i think i’ve come to realize that i am NOT a party girl. too bad i’m still in college, so i often go just for the sake of going, but they are really not my scene. esp when girls are flopping around sayin “omg i am soooo drnk” and guys are acting like raging idiots. just sayin! i’m more of a popcorn and pj girl i guess :)

  3. January 25, 2010 9:55 pm

    I’m both kinds of girls. When I’m in the town that I’m currently in, I’m a HUGE stay in and watch movies girl. I hate the house parties here and prefer my own/my family’s company to that of the redneck, get drunk people here. If I do go to a party than I’m usually the DD.

    When I visit the city? I can be a little wild child. =) I can’t WAIT to go clubbing, only 5 months until I’m 19!!

  4. January 25, 2010 11:08 pm

    I can’t do parties or drinking, it’s just not me, and I don’t enjoy myself at all. I’m more of a PJ, popcorn, and a Gossip Girl marathon on a Friday night kind of girl, as you said.

  5. January 26, 2010 5:09 pm

    HA, I used to obsessively check The Cobra Snake during freshman year! My life is so different now… I don’t enjoy going to parties as much, and prefer to stay inside and be a homebody. Things could change again, and obviously one must balance a home and social (and work) life, but I like being cozy!

  6. January 29, 2010 1:38 am

    This post gets me SO excited for the time when I can finally hit up the bars. I’m in the same sitch as you, but with frat parties instead. Creepy guys trying to dance with me, hoess wearing next to nothing/sloppily spilling drinks on everyone…..OH BOY! i’m excited to finally get free drinks from attractive men!!!! sign me uppppp :)

    ahh, only TWO years away. lol.
    and i’m a mixture of the two! i love my nights out but also demand those comfy, relaxing movie nights in!

Leave a Reply

