Skip to content

optimism

January 29, 2010

This week, Pittsburgh remembered that it is in fact January and is killing me with icy sidewalks, snow that sticks to your face, and awful temperatures.Yeah, I know that this isn’t that bad. I mean, look at what I’m used to from back home in Vermont.

And those lows are not accounting for the windchill – and trust me, that windchill cuts another 15 or so degrees off. I used to stand out at the end of my driveway waiting for the bus for up to half an hour a day for 7 years in this stuff.

So today when I was extreeeemely bored in my Nature of Language class (at first I thought it was interesting, but then the professor decided to spend the whole time going over phonetics charts from the book), I cheered myself up by looking at what I’ll be experiencing in just 5 weeks when Spring Break rolls around and saves me.

There may be rain showers in there, but honestly, what’s better than a hot day at the beach, a nice dinner with a big glass of wine, and then watching a thunder storm on the ocean? Absolutely nothing.

Basically, all that’s keeping me from getting utterly depressed about the current lack of sunlight and having my fingers frozen numb several times a day is knowing that pretty soon I’ll be out of here, working on my tan.

What’s keeping you optimistic through this awful part of winter?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 29, 2010 1:18 am

    ahhh you’re going to panama? so jealous! soooo jealous! that weather sounds amazing, i LOVE when it is hot and rainy at the same time- super tropical. i think i would die if i faced the temps you are dealing with right now…yeesh! soldier on though, spring break is so soon!

  2. January 29, 2010 1:35 am

    Err.. awful part of winter? We never really had a winter.. right now it feels like spring is right around the corner. Heh. :3 To be honest though, I DO wish that we’d received some snow and hey, it WAS a little chilly for awhile.

  3. January 29, 2010 8:24 am

    Winter depresses the crap out of me, so I hang on to the promise of spring, too…I can’t wait to wear flip flops again! You’re lucky to get to experience it a few weeks early…Panama sounds great!

  4. January 29, 2010 3:44 pm

    Ha, this is hilarious!

    Optimism fuel? Cozying up in bed with a good movie and a book!

  5. January 29, 2010 5:55 pm

    Whats keeping me optimistic is knowing that summer is coming! Eventually haha :) In ohio is rarely gets really hott like i like it, but i do miss the sunshine.

Leave a Reply

