Skip to content

animal collective

January 30, 2010

I kind of have a major thing for animal themed jewelry (I know a certain Snacker who can relate) and yesterday’s trip to Forever 21 proved to majorly satisfy my obsession.

I had already scoped these out online and was praying that the South Side store would actually have them in stock and in my size, and I think that it is a small miracle that I was able to comb through that place and find exactly what I was looking for. I managed to just buy these and a sort of necessary belt and only did $11 worth of damage to my bank account.

Last night I went to a frat party for the first time in like, 18 months. And before anyone calls me out on what I said a few days ago regarding these kinds of parties, I only went because it was Jersey Shore themed and I was kind of really curious to see how Carnegie Mellon students would incorporate fist pumping and hair gel into a party. We don’t get a whole lot of guidos running around here. It was actually a lot of fun, and I ended up meeting some really chill guys who have 3 rabbits at their house. The highlight of my night was definitely cosying up to a pygmy bunny for a few minutes. We somehow managed to stay out until 5 am or so, and my really late morning is definitely putting a cramp in all of the plans that I had for today. Oh well, that’s what I get for spending the night dancing in these, which were a more impulsive purchase from yesterday’s shopping trip. They’re surprisingly comfortable and totally worth the $25 at H&M.

I’m going to try and salvage as much of the day as I can, writing up a quick Power Point presentation about historical water consumption in Pittsburgh, getting a workout in, making some sense out of my Ethics homework, and getting ready for tonight. Hopefully a nap doesn’t sneak onto that list too, but my bed seems a lot more inviting than the library right now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 4:39 pm

    I share the same opinion of you about those types of parties but I still go on occasion. Just because they aren’t necessarily our thing, doesn’t mean we should avoid them like the plague – sometimes it’s good to do things that you don’t normally do as fun CAN ensue.

    Very cute rings! I think I spotted the owl one on their website awhile ago and considered purchasing it. Then, as usual, I changed my mind. Definitely adorable though!

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 30, 2010 4:47 pm

    lol guys with rabbits, that is so random! glad you had fun. those shoes are INTENSE! love it. have a great weekend!

  3. January 30, 2010 5:07 pm

    oh girl. i love those shoes. glad you had fun last night! sounds like it was worth it!

  4. January 31, 2010 8:21 am

    Haha oh CMU…I spent quite a lot of time in the frat quad last year, but sadly never saw any bunnies. Would have made it so much better! Good luck with your work and stay warm!

  5. January 31, 2010 2:36 pm

    Never EVER feel guilty about doing something like that every once in a while. Parties are not my life, so when I go out, I enjoy myself (I don’t get like sloppy or anything like that). But I’ve definitely become a grandma this semester–I like can’t stay up past 1:30 or else I will fall asleep where I am standing haha.

    Lovin the new digs, good luck on getting work done :)

Leave a Reply

