Skip to content

❉ ❆ ❉ ❆ ❉

February 6, 2010

Many of you in the Eastern US are probably experiencing the ridiculous blanket of powder that has been delivered over night.  In the 3 years I’ve lived in Pittsburgh, I’ve never seen this much white stuff come down all at once!

It’s crazy how the city has just stopped, too.  Cars are buried pretty deep out there and I’ll be surprised if the mail man is able to make it today (despite that old saying about how the mailman delivers in wind, rain, snow, whatever, they’re not that reliable).

It’s been snowing since yesterday afternoon, but that didn’t deter me from heading over to South Side for a quick shopping excursion.  I basically did the same exact route as I did last week (lunch at Pita Pit, H&M, Urban Outfitters, Forever 21) and still managed to pick up some new things.

At H&M I found a ridiculously comfy pair of jeggings (don’t judge — I’ll wear them to class in lieu of sweatpants and feel like I’m actually dressed), 2 $10 oversized sweaters, a simple navy tunic to belt, and a bucket bag that I carried through the snowstorm and fell even more in love with.

It’s a great faux leather and the tiny studs are such a cute detail.

At Urban Outfitters I managed to step away from the overly stuffed but still overly priced sale racks with just this belt.

A guy friend of mine went into my closet and declared that I have ‘infinity belts’ – as in waaaayyy too many waist cinchers than one girl could ever use.  But they’re such a great accessory to pull together a look and makes any dress a million times more flattering than it was before that I can’t stop adding to my growing collection.

At F21 I also restrained myself and only purchased one item: these shoes.  I basically have the same ones in black, but I had seen a more expensive version at Steve Madden and  loved the braided detail enough to buy these.  I also wanted some lighter boots to add to my arsenal.  Do I sound like I’m trying to justify purchasing a pair of nonessential boots?  Because I totally am.

These boots played an integral role in the rest of my night.

We had big plans to go see the $1 showing of Where the Wild Things Are on campus and if you haven’t seen this yet, you really should.  It’s definitely not a movie for children, but rather a movie about childhood.  Everything about it was so well done, from the imagery to the soundtrack.  It made me think about childhood and familial relationships in a whole new way.

After the movie I had a night full of rum and cokes, sledding in the park at 3 am (there were quite a few other people out there too), running down Forbes to get to PHI bar, and doing a little bit of chair racing in a building on campus with crazy long, slanted hallways.  And those boots totally carried me through all of the snow for hours.  I kept having to stop and dump all of the snow and ice out of them, but once I did, they kept me relatively dry.  It was nuts and I managed to get back at 4 am, but I woke up happy and not at all hungover this morning, probably due to the massive amounts of pita chips that I ate before passing out.

Now that the snow has effectively put a damper on my plans for the day (soccer is canceled and the roads to Target are definitely not passable), I’m chilling with some soup and watching Crash.  I just love, love, love snow days.

How are you enjoying the snow if you have it?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:35 pm

    love that your friend dubbed them “infinity belts,” a girl can never have too many! nice snowflakes as your post title, how’d you do that?

  2. February 6, 2010 1:42 pm

    I saw them on facebook and copied and pasted them in here. Feel free to do the same from here!

  3. February 6, 2010 2:03 pm

    oh i really really like that belt. i might have to make an excursion to urban today. it just happens to be on the way to where i’m going anyway.. so….

  4. February 6, 2010 2:28 pm

    Love all the new stuff! I always find such better stuff when I shouldn’t be buying anything :) I can’t believe you got to chair race in Baker…something I always wanted to do! Stay warm!

  5. February 6, 2010 7:26 pm

    You can NEVER have too many waist belts. Never. And those boots are super cute. Now I’m wishing that I’d gone to Forever 21 when I was in town..

    Haha, your night sounds like it was so much fun!

  6. February 7, 2010 8:57 am

    I saw those boots at F21 and was going to get them but I didnt. Now you have got me thinking that I should go back and grab them while I can :) Im in northeastern ohio and it is snow snow snow all over the place. Im getting really tired of it! Hopefully it will thaw out soon.

  7. February 7, 2010 1:24 pm

    I love the first pic. So beautiful!!

    I had tons of fun on my snow day. Participated in a campus wide snowball fight and went sledding on trash bags!!

  8. February 7, 2010 8:50 pm

    oh my gosh I heard that pittsburgh was pounded with snow!! i hope you stay safe & warm inside :)

    love the purse!

  9. February 8, 2010 11:15 am

    We missed the snow and just got the bitter cold. Where’s the fun in that?!

    I love your purchases, especially that horsey belt!

    Been meaning to see WTWTA… Netflix, baby!

Leave a Reply

