Skip to content

stuck on repeat

February 11, 2010

Before college, I never had a consistent exercise routine.  I had never been a member of a gym and my parents had declared the great outdoors to be a perfectly acceptable alternative to a treadmill.  I would have totally agreed with them if we hadn’t lived on one of the only paved roads in Vermont without a sidewalk, which meant that there was plenty of fast moving traffic (think milk trucks) and no shoulder.  I spent more time jumping in and out of ditches to avoid death than actually running during the few times that I braved the cold (and it was always cold).  I played soccer freshman year of high school and dabbled in track sophomore and junior years, but I didn’t have anything that I loved to do and I rarely, if ever, got a good sweat session.

Then I came to school and discovered the wonder that was the gym.  The small room on the first floor of my dorm had 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and bike, and an arc trainer, half of which were broken at any one time.  I quickly became a slave to the arc trainer (since it burned the most calories per session), and I quickly grew to hate it.  Once spring came, I started to run outside and for the first time in my life, I considered myself a runner.  Even when I ran track, I had never run more than 2 miles at a time (we would have mud fights in the woods on our long run days), but now I was pushing myself to complete 5 miles of hilly Pittsburgh sidewalk.  I also started taking yoga as a free PE class (do it if your school offers it!), and with these two new activities, I genuinely started to love exercise and felt like something was missing if I didn’t get a good sweat going a few times a week.

While I may have gone a little overboard with some exercise in the past, I really feel like I’ve found a good balance with my life now.  I have a mix of stuff that I do, and it all depends on how much time I have in a given day, what the weather is like, where I am, and how good my hair looks that day (if I’m having a good hair day, there’s no way I’m going to ruin it with an elastic – those are yoga days).

So now I consider myself to be a regular practicer of…

[kickboxing]

don’t mess with me in a dark alley – I have a mean right hook

[yoga]

I never thought I’d do a back bend or head stand, but these days they’re easy-peasy

[running]

I’ve done ~6 miles in one go, and once the weather warms up I’m aiming for more

[skiing]

when I’m home and there’s plenty of snow, you know I’m out there enjoying the powder

[ellipticalling]

sometimes I just want to zone out with Vogue…so I do

[soccer]

I play on the club team and it feels so good to kick the ball around and get dirty with some like-minded girls

[dancing]

I may do it with a drink in my hand, wearing a body-con skirt and wedges, but it’s one of the best leg workouts out there

[pilates]

just another way to get that rock hard core

Do you have a routine?  Are you stuck in it?  Or happy as a clam?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:50 pm

    so great that you have a healthy relationship with exercise now! you certainly are branching out there with the types you do too, awesome! i don’t so much have a “routine” now, and that is by design. i too used to be a slave to the arc trainer, and the elliptical, and the dreadmill, etc and had a totally disordered relationship with exercise. so now i just go to the gym when i want and do what i want to do. i haven’t done yoga in a while but i do love it, and i’m a swimmer at heart so i try to get in the pool at least once a week

  2. February 12, 2010 7:53 am

    I’m definitely stuck in a routine, but I like it. I’m a creature of habit :) If I had it my way, I’d run outside every day, but nature and my knee doesn’t allow for that, so I switch it up with the elliptical, too. Did you live in New/Stever House freshman year? All those machines still weren’t fixed by the time I lived there…

  3. February 12, 2010 8:44 am

    I totally did! I hated that little room with a passion but it was just so convenient. This is too funny – what floor did you live on? I had some friends who were RAs there last year.

  4. February 12, 2010 11:32 am

    I was on the 2nd floor- Corinne was my RA. Small world!

  5. February 12, 2010 4:15 pm

    good hair days are ABSOLUTELY yoga days. i love it.

Leave a Reply

