Skip to content

queen of hearts

February 15, 2010

card courtesy of my Grandma

 

As a single gal, Valentine’s Day can sometimes bring unhappy thoughts and the undeniable urge to hurl large boxes of low quality chocolates at the pairs of lovebirds that seem to all come out of the woodwork on this day.  From the big box of roses that appeared on our doorstep for one of my roommates to the stories of appreciation of Valentine’s Day sex from another friend, I was definitely starting to hate on this day.

But then some well-timed Valentine’s Day care packages arrived on my doorstep from my family and grandparents, and things seemed to not be so bad for a bit.  The fact that my grandma remembered that dried pineapple is my absolute favorite and the lack of dairy products in the chocolate that my mom sent made me remember that I do have some really wonderful people in my life who care about me.

The day became even better when a couple of other single girls came over and we all gossiped and talked about past hook-ups and scandals, stuffing our faces with vegan sugar cookies.  Sometimes, there are enough horror stories about various sorority girls to make you kind of happy to not have a man in your life.

After laughing until my abs hurt and eating enough sugar to sustain me for two days, I had a wonderful Skype session with my sister, showered, and then promptly passed out.  I don’t know if I could have had  a better day.

How did you spend your Valentine’s Day?  With some lovely single ladies or do you have a significant other in your life? Spill!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 12:07 pm

    Valentine’s Day definitely lost its magic for me a few years ago when I went through one right after a breakup. That’s why now I like to keep it low-key…chocolate is all I need! Sounds like you got some good packages, though, and sometimes gossiping about people’s love lives is just necessary :) The BF and I spent Valentine’s Day demolishing sugar and watching I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell and American Pie. Perfect night. Have a great week love!

  2. February 15, 2010 12:49 pm

    Aww that sounds like such a good girl’s sesh! I love that. I did homework for a majority of Sunday but got a fun girls’ night in on fri w/ a movie and dinner! Plus, hearing about how ASS-HOLEY (but also sweet) my friend’s boyfriends are made me feel a bit better! Who needs the drama right now?! Not me! But I wouldn’t hate a man’s attention or someone to have legit “date nights” with either :)

  3. February 15, 2010 1:11 pm

    sounds like a great day to me!! so sweet about your g-ma and mom sending you the perfect treats, v considerate. that card is awesome, she made it herself?

  4. February 15, 2010 3:19 pm

    Yes, she made it. She’s always been really into crazy cards and gift wrapping. My roommates always look forward to seeing what she came up with for each holiday package – her Halloween one was nuts!

  5. February 15, 2010 9:48 pm

    That sounds like the perfect way to spend Valentine’s Day. Did your grandmother make that card?!

    I spent the day with Ari and my dad, and to be honest, there wasn’t any mention of V-Day! Just fine with me… I try to appreciate ALL of the people I care about on a daily basis, not just February 14.

    Have a great week, Anna!

  6. February 16, 2010 11:03 pm

    Single ladies unite! Haha, I spent Valentine’s with my church friends…and I think romance is overrated anyway, so I didn’t really feel particularly bitter. But I do wonder sometimes what the heck is wrong with me. Hee.

  7. February 18, 2010 8:21 am

    This was the first V-Day where I’ve flown solo–and I had a ball. I feel like the friend-love on Valentine’s Day is so underplayed; discovering it this year for the first time was an awakening. It was just like one big sleepover and I can’t remember the last time I’d ever felt so content.

    So, in short, your Valentine’s Day is pretty much how I always hope to spend mine: not stressing about the perfect gift or the perfect restaurant or making someone else happy–but showing my love for everyone in my life through mutual enjoyment of what in the end is kind of silly.

Leave a Reply

