Skip to content

ready for departure

March 3, 2010

at this point I am so ready to head off to a warmer, happier place.

instead of thinking about

phonemes (for my Nature of Language midterm)

or

iron curtains (for that darn 20th C US History exam)

I’m filling my brain with more important thoughts:

{are wedges practical footwear for the jungle?}

{can you have too many pairs of sunglasses?}

{do Panamanian stores stock Orbit wintergreen gum?}

{will one bottle of sunscreen last 9 days?}

{should I pretend that I’m going to do homework on this trip?}

{can you learn a language in 2 days?}

{can I figure out a way to stay down there forever and not return to Pittsburgh?}

{will going from 30 F to 98 F be bad for me?}

{will I sleep at all between now and Friday morning?}

Probably not, but I’m planning on passing out on the plane and waking up in PANAMA CITY, baby!

how do you prepare for a big trip?


[photo courtesy of Theresa Keller]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 2:35 am

    wooo hooo panama!! i prepare for a big trip by wayyy overpacking, unpacking, then packing again. grab my camera and extra batteries, have a couple of giddy nights ahead of the trip getting all excited, and then i’m off!

  2. March 3, 2010 11:39 am

    Ahhh 2oth c US History SUCKS…I took it last semester, is Day your professor?

    I’d be super excited for your trip too! Have an amazing time- I’m sure you’ll take tons of pictures!

  3. March 3, 2010 11:51 am

    I have McMahon, who is the most hilarious Irish man ever to teach a history course at CMU. I actually love that course, but only because of him. I’m glad I didn’t get stuck with another professor!

  4. March 3, 2010 4:29 pm

    HAHA I think wedges are totally appropriate for the jungle. Just make sure they have good traction!

    I stock up on books!

  5. March 4, 2010 12:24 pm

    Haha love it. I’d be the same way!! And oh, i wouldn’t worry about getting sleep before the big trip at all! I actually try and sleep LESS right before a travel day–so that I can konk out super easily on the plane :)

    And hmm wedges should definitely been worn on this trip! But bring some hiking boots/sneakers too, just in case ;)

    Oh! Ps! You better recap some Panana eats!!! I need to know that i’ll survive in another country….on a vegetarian diet if I study abroad next year!! While NOT just living off of beans and rice!! HAHA

  6. March 5, 2010 12:14 am

    I prepare for a big trip by not sleeping before the flight that day, or I’ll be antsy and impatient the whole time on the plane.
    Oh, and I make sure I’ve got my trusty laptop and camera and charger.

  7. March 5, 2010 3:15 pm

    I stock up on sleeping pills, find a good book, and get out a scarf I can cocoon in so no one draws phalluses on my face while I’m asleep and vulnerable to attack.

    HAVE FUN! I predict you will have an absolute ball!

  8. prettytimepiece permalink
    March 7, 2010 9:22 pm

    ooo a big trip! i am jealllllous. have fun :D

    i prepare/pack HORRIBLY, so i wouldn’t be the best to give advice, except to make a list of things you can’t live without and make sure you pack them all, heheh

    good luck!

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

Leave a Reply

