Skip to content

fresh & local

March 26, 2010


I really miss fresh fruit
I got really spoiled while I was in Panama with the abundance of fresh tropical fruit
pineapples, bananas, melons
although there weren't any bright red strawberries
(I took this picture last summer when local berries were so fresh you could still
practically taste the sunshine)
I get a CSA box that's chock full of local produce,
but I'm not sure what to do with it
this week's includes potatoes, beets, mushy apples, and spinach
I'm happy with the spinach, but I'm not a huge potato eater
and what the heck do you do with beets?
I think a dessert would be the best way to get rid of all the apples

ideas?
7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 7:53 am

    Beets + arugula + goat cheese. Or a really amazing “beet” chili. Done.

  2. March 26, 2010 9:54 am

    Apple Cake! My dad and I make one we love called “Grandmother’s Apple Cake,” you can probably find it on epicurious. Or tarte tatin? Or just microwave a diced apple with cinnamon and top with yogurt!

  3. March 26, 2010 2:03 pm

    Beet salad…with onions and green peppers. I had some yesterday. Yum :)

  4. March 27, 2010 3:06 pm

    Those strawberries look SO good. I can’t wait to get some amazing strawberries.. I want summer. :( I wish I could give you ideas for the beets but to be honest, I would be wondering the exact same thing. Haha.

  5. March 27, 2010 10:02 pm

    Apple muffins. Apple butter. Apple sauce. Apple pie. Apple tarts. Apple pork loins. Apple burgers.
    Beets: roasted beet salads with candied nuts and goat cheese. Beet chocolate cakes. Beet patties. Beet pancakes. Beet risotto. Beet juice.

    hee hee, the sky is the limit!

  6. March 28, 2010 1:31 pm

    You know i’m going to push the baked apple mess on you! Tastes especially amazing with lots of cinnamon, sunflower seed butter and crushed grahams :)

    And oooh make some delicious roasted potatoes and beets!! That’d be amazing.

  7. prettytimepiece permalink
    March 29, 2010 9:55 pm

    oh, fresh fruit is amazing. i love pineapple… & honeycrisp apples .

    <3

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

Leave a Reply

