Skip to content

chocolate chunk cookies

April 3, 2010

not my cookies – from we♥it.com

despite the heat yesterday I felt like baking something, so I decided to whip up a batch of the least healthy, most delicious cookies I’ve had in a looooong time.  I used a recipe from the Joy of Baking, and it was amazing with it’s full fat content and sugary goodness.  I subbed in whole wheat flour (that’s all I had on hand) and soy-free Earth Balance for the butter and used 2 farm fresh eggs from my CSA.  what really pushed them over the top were the top-notch dark chocolate bars that I chopped up and added in lieu of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I just wish I’d been able to take a picture of these guys. they didn’t last very long in a house of wine-loving girls!

I usually avoid butter- and sugar-laden treats, but this was definitely worth straying from my normally healthy standards. have you had a recent indulgence that was totally worth every chocolate covered crumb?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 12:44 pm

    I haven’t had any big indulgences since the beginning of Lent, but tonight is my grandfather’s birthday and I can’t wait for a huge slice of cake :) Have a great weekend and enjoy the weather!

  2. April 3, 2010 4:10 pm

    Last weekend, vegan cupcakes (which, despite the ‘vegan’ label, were sugar bombs.) Tomorrow, I’m making authentic southern biscuits for Easter! I had to buy SHORTENING (omg) at the store today. Oh, and there’s butter in the recipe, too…. *falls over* *dies* … !

  3. April 4, 2010 9:02 am

    Hells yeah for full-blown treats. Second hells yeah for CSA eggs (the yolks of which are practically orange and make grocery store eggs look chump). I haven’t really indulged lately, which should really change because life’s too short.

  4. April 4, 2010 12:39 pm

    Even though that’s not your pic…those cookies look and SOUND incredible!
    It’s amazing what quality chocolate does…makes it all a million times more delicious

Leave a Reply

