Skip to content

cram time

April 7, 2010

we♥it.com

the next week is going to be seriously lacking in the fun department for me. expect lots of quality time with just me, my computer, and a big stack of books at the library – oh, and plenty of caffeine.

while I don’t have that much due before next Wednesday, I’m trying to be super prepared and do all of my work that is due on the 19th, which happens to include 2 giant papers that make up a large part of my grade for 2 different classes.  I also absolutely need As on both of them.

as much as I would like to be really motivated and get everything done days before I actually hand anything in, I’m having trouble being motivated. does that happen to anyone else?

so, why am I doing this? well, next Wednesday night marks the beginning of the most wonderful time of year here – Spring Carnival. we get 2 full days off of school to do whatever we want, which means that my friends and I shut our computers, step away from our research, and throw ourselves into being crazy college kids.

daytime beer and dance parties in the park, alcoholic smoothies with breakfast, beer pong in bikinis – we do this once a year and we want to do it right. The Black Keys are also playing a free show on the Cut Friday night – if you’re in Pittsburgh, I recommend stopping by.

Carnival is actually about a lot of things besides drinking and chilling outside with your friends – Booth, Buggy, the return of lots of alumni…but do you see why I need to get my work done?

does your school have a Carnival equivalent? do you feel the need to both work hard and play hard?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 2:39 pm

    Good luck with all of your work! Good for you for getting it done early… motivation just gets harder and harder to come by as the months get warmer.

    We had “Springfest” in April with lots of live bands and a beer garden (for those of age).

  2. snackface permalink
    April 7, 2010 6:22 pm

    Gahhhh can I please join for some alchy smoothies + Black Keys action? Sounds amaaaazing!

    I’m with you. I’m having a harder and harder time staying motivated! Wish I knew how to help!

  3. April 8, 2010 8:48 pm

    duke has LDOC (last day of classes) where everyone starts drinking mimosas during their 8:30am classes. sounds similar – a day of fun, a day of friends, a day of alcohol. We also have a pretty big band come every year – last year it was girl talk and a journey cover band. So, yeah. In a word, AWESOME.

    remind me again, why doesn’t law school do this?

  4. April 9, 2010 10:08 am

    I wish my school had a carnival!!! Sounds like fun!
    And I’m on the same page as you with the amount of work I have in the next week…it’s pretty ridiculous, our finals aren’t until the first week of May but ALL MY CLASSES are instead having everything due in the next two weeks…joy.
    And motivation is definitely hard to come by, I’m currently trying to solicit the same advice :)

  5. April 9, 2010 6:08 pm

    hang in there girl! the last weeks of celebration are something to look forward to and, believe me, they’ll be here before you know it! xoxo

  6. April 9, 2010 11:29 pm

    Um, yeah. If you get any extra motivation punch, throw it my way, because I’m already burned out and cannot wait for school to end!
    Hang on there! Just a few more weeks….

  7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    April 10, 2010 2:44 am

    Carnival seems fun- i get unmotivated too- seriously! good luck though, you’re almost done :)

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. April 11, 2010 10:30 pm

    Does anyone else feel this way?! Uhh, EVERYONE does! haha– we are all over school girlfriend, and we are all so sick of studying our asses off for exam after exam, paper after paper! Summer, please get here already!!

    Oh, and that week sounds absolutely glorious. We just had our week of “spring fling”, where every sorority pairs up with a frat and you just party to a different theme and at a different place every night. Although I had two exams last week (gross), I ended up partaking in some “around the world”-themed bowling madness and learned that guys who are wayyy drunker than me can still kill me in bowling. Clearly, I have problems. hahaha

    HAVE FUN AND GOOD LUCK WITH ALL THE WORK! XOXOXO

  9. prettytimepiece permalink
    April 14, 2010 6:27 am

    ughhhh do I know what you mean! I am lacking motivation at this very moment to get an essay done for class, uh TONIGHT.

    we can do it. baby steps, deep breaths, it’ll all be over & summer soon :D

    <3

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

Leave a Reply

