Skip to content

at the stroke of midnight…

April 30, 2010

I turn 21!

I feel like I’ve been waiting for this milestone forever. Not that I’ve been lusting after my ability to drink at a bar for years, but it’s the last big milestone of young adulthood. After this, there’s not too much to look forward to (at least according to legal age limits). Especially since so many of my good friends started turning the big 2-1 a few months ago, I feel like it’s about time.

Don’t worry – I don’t plan on doing anything ridiculous like taking 21 shots or whatever else crazy, reckless people do on this birthday. I’ve been to the hospital once before in my life due to irresponsible drinking, and let’s just say that I’ve learned my lesson well.

I’d just like people to buy me drinks and to possible be involved in an epic dance party.

If you’re already 21, how did you celebrate? And if you have yet to reach the legal age for alcohol consumption, how would your perfect birthday play out?

Tomorrow I have big plans that include a trip to the new FroYo place in Squirrel Hill and a classy dinner party with cute dresses and good (not boxed) wine. And then we’re throwing a rager to celebrate my day of birth and the last day of classes, as well as one of my roommate’s return to the country from her semester in Barcelona. It should be crazy. Cramming for finals can definitely wait a day!

Oh – my parents just informed me that my new Canon Rebel is on its way. I am SO EXCITED!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 11:44 am

    Happy birthday eve, Anna!!

    Canon rebel??? OMG it will rock your world, I promise you!

  2. April 30, 2010 12:31 pm

    HAPPY ALMOST BIRTHDAY!! Sounds like a great celebration- and I am SO JEALOUS of your Rebel, can’t wait to hear what you think of it!!

    I want to have a 21st birthday party at a fun restaurant, eat way too much cake, and get hammered off of solely champagne. It’s my birthday, and I’ll do what I want to.

    Have fun tonight!!

  3. April 30, 2010 4:13 pm

    Happy almost birthday love!! You are going to have such an amazing time–getting into the bars (with a REAL id) is always a big day! hahaha
    Please enjoy some super delicious, fruity/tangy/whatevaaa-you-desire type of drink for me!

    My past birthday was pretty perfect besides the fact that I was passed out by 10 pm! It did involve lots of bday shots, a crown, dancing and dressing up though!

    Ps! PLEASE let me know what your friend says about her Barcelona experience!! I may be going THEREEE next spring!!! XOXOXO

  4. May 1, 2010 9:02 am

    Happy 21st! While I have yet to celebrate mine, I am a veteran at celebrating others’. The good news is very few people whom are not musclehead athletic men are expected to drink 21 shots; and if anyone gives you guff, threaten alcohol poisoning and puking on their car seats.

  5. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 1, 2010 4:50 pm

    Pretty cake! that’s awesome

  6. May 5, 2010 4:20 pm

    Happy belated birthday!!! :)

Leave a Reply

