Skip to content

over the river & through the woods

May 6, 2010

we♥it.com

Less than a minute ago, I submitted my Ethical Theory paper to the digital dropbox.  What does this mean?

I’M DONE.  IT’S SUMMER.  I DON’T HAVE TO TAKE ETHICAL THEORY EVER AGAIN.  NO HOMEWORK FOR 3 MONTHS.  I CAN READ MAGAZINES AND BLOGS AGAIN WITHOUT FEELING GUILTY.  I CAN GET TAN INSTEAD OF HIDING IN THE LIBRARY.  I CAN LEARN HOW TO USE MY NEW CAMERA.  I CAN COOK REAL MEALS AGAIN INSTEAD OF EATING QUORN PATTIES FOR DINNER EVERY NIGHT.  FREE CONCERTS AND MOVIES IN THE PARK ARE COMING UP. I CAN WAKE UP WITHOUT AN ALARM ON MONDAYS.  I CAN MAKE SPONTANEOUS TRIPS TO RAZZIEFRESH FOR FRO YO.

Sorry if the all-caps scared you – I’m just overwhelmed with joy.  I may still have to do a few edits on a huge group project, but I’m pretending that I don’t.

And the best part is that tomorrow night, me and basically my best friends since freshman year are all packing up our cars and heading out to my friend’s cabin in the middle of nowhere, PA.  It’s near State College, I think, but we went last year and there were places in the grocery store parking lot to park your horse and buggy.  So it’s kind of rural.

His cabin is definitely not, though.  They recently renovated it, and it’s HUGE (enough for the 16 of us to sleep there comfortably), has wifi, really nice sinks, a big screen projector, and a pool table.  He even has a ‘secret’ door to his room – it looks like a bookshelf, but when you press it just right, it swings open into his room.  Needless to say, it’s going to be freaking awesome.  We’re packing up veggie burgers and a box of Franzia (Refreshing White, at my roommate’s request.  The other whites apparently suck.) to keep us going from Friday night to Sunday afternoon.  It’s supposed to be in the 50s (so no rope swing into the river) but I’m planning on doing some hiking and getting to roast some marshmallows over the fire (but not eat them.  I don’t do gelatin.).

I’m just really excited to get away from the city.  I want to smell fresh grass and see the stars at night.  I really love the convenience of Pittsburgh – I never need a car, I can eat any type of food I want, and there are museums and shows all over the place.  However, I’m really a Vermonter at heart who just wants to spend my days sans shoes and watch a field full of fireflies from my front porch.  That’s when I know it’s summer.

When do you know summer has arrived?  And is it close for you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 6, 2010 9:45 pm

    summer has arrived when I can wear flip flops. hello season!

  2. May 7, 2010 8:23 am

    CONGRATS on being DONE!! Even though I’m home, I still have a 12 page paper to complete…grrrr. That weekend sounds so fun though, hope you have an amazing time!!

    Summer is when I can lay in my bed and count on the sun to wake me up at 7. Sounds crazy, but I love waking up early to blinding sunlight, knowing I have the whole day ahead of me!!

  3. May 7, 2010 9:06 am

    First off–congrats on being done! Second off–what you just described is basically my ideal way of kicking off the summer. It sounds like the freakishly perfect mix of rural peace and urban comfort. Plus who can ever hate on a place with secret passages?

    I know summer’s here when I’m on a boat and forgetting about any sort of way to measure time other than where the sun is and how warm my skin feels.

  4. May 9, 2010 12:25 am

    Wow, I can definitely feel your joy and triumph from over here. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I’m envious, because I still have one final left before I’m officially done. But YOU ENJOY! Your summer plans sounds great and relaxing!

  5. May 9, 2010 10:59 pm

    WOOHOO! Way to go, Anna! You must be on cloud 9 right now. Enjoy your time up in the cabin!

    I felt summer last week when I sat on a stoop with an iced coffee, reading a book (one of my top 5 activities of all time)… and even though we got SLEET this weekend, I know it’s here. I hope to plan some weekend trips, take long walks outside, and just… relax.

  6. May 11, 2010 3:47 am

    Do not apologize for using the caps! THEY ARE DEFINITELY NECESSARY AT THIS POINT IN TIME :)

    I cannot tell you how excited I am for daily fro yo sessions, sleeping in, not having to stress over school work (for 3 whole months–halle-freaking-luah!), laying out in the sun, blog-reading/tv-watching till my eyes hurt (kidding! kinda.), and just enjoying the gorgeous summer air!

    My break officially begun this weekend, but won’t feel truly real until i’m back home with my all my fam, my pets, my own bed, etc etc….on wednesday!!!!!!!!!!!! Multiple exclamation points necessary. Let’s catch up soon! XOXO

  7. Lyss permalink
    May 11, 2010 6:03 pm

    summer officially starts tomorrow! :) but, it’s summer/real life and i definitely DON’T have as much to look forward to as you. congratulations! your hard work paid off and now it’s YOUR time to shine!

Leave a Reply

