Skip to content

a little getaway

May 17, 2010

In exactly 4.5 hours, I’ll be leaving Pittsburgh and heading out for a mini vacation back in New England.  I’m flying in to Boston, where my sister will pick me up and we’ll head into the city for the day.  Lunch, shopping, and cute-boys-wearing-Red Sox-hats-stalking are all on the agenda.  After we get our fill in the city (and it’s supposed to be 75* and perfect tomorrow), we’ll drive down to Newport, Rhode Island, where my Aunt is letting us crash in her little vacation house for a few days.

We don’t really have anything planned, and I couldn’t be more excited.  I want to stroll on the beach, eat gelato, and take pictures of the sunset reflecting off of sailboats.  I haven’t been in New England for quite some time, and I knew it was time to go back when a drive past a Red Lobster made me nostalgic for sun-bleached shingle-covered houses.

Where would you run off to for a few days if someone offered you a place to stay?

Did I mention that I’m not at all packed yet?  Yeah, no sleep for me tonight.  I’m planning on crashing on my flight and then pumping my body with Dunkin’ Donuts all day.  It should be a good time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 8:07 am

    Enjoy your trip! I love MA…the BF’s fam has a house there, and it’s beautiful! Hope you have fun with your sister!

  2. May 17, 2010 11:41 am

    Sounds like so much fun! And looks beautiful! Ahh there are so many places I’d run away to right now for a nice relaxing getaway- New England sounds pretty nice as does San Diego or thereabouts :)

  3. May 18, 2010 1:22 pm

    Enjoy your trip and have lots of fun! :) If I could run away somewhere I would go to italy, or paris. Or london. I am actually just dying to get over seas!

  4. May 18, 2010 6:22 pm

    Ooh have a great time! I am CRAVING a getaway with the boy… I’d love to go anywhere, but New Orleans has been calling my name.

  5. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 18, 2010 9:42 pm

    ben and jerry; hottest date location
    have a good time!

  6. prettytimepiece permalink
    May 18, 2010 11:33 pm

    oh goodness sounds like lots of fun! enjoy your mini-vaca :D

    <3

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

  7. May 21, 2010 7:49 pm

    Gah I’m so jealous of your life! I feel like you’ve had sooo many great experiences in just the past couple months, it’s insane!…In a good way :)

    Eating out, boy-stalking, shopping, gelato and perfect weather all sound amazing to me! I hope we can catch up soon!! xooxox

  8. May 24, 2010 12:13 am

    funny story – Jerry actually lives in the town right next to mine. I went to high school with his son. They always made sure there were lots of free pints at our school events!

Leave a Reply

