Skip to content

recently

May 25, 2010

I’ve been up to quite a bit since returning from my mini vacation.

I’ve organized my room – well, it’s a work in progress, so I’m still organizing my room.

Don’t ask my how I’ve acquired this much flannel.  I’m from Vermont – it’s practically a uniform when I go home.

I’ve played with my new babies: Jack, Rambo, and Buddha.

These little guys are ours for about 2 more weeks.  We’re taking care of them for a local animal shelter until they’re old enough to be adopted.  They’re so cute and hilarious, but we’re trying not to get too attached to them because we really aren’t in a position to become parents anytime soon.  I’m really enjoying having their curious furry faces around, though.  If you’re in Pittsburgh, consider giving them a home!

Eating lots of summertime food.

For the past 2 days, I’ve been making burgers out of 1/4 of a tube of Gimme Lean veggie sausage and frying them up, topping them with cheese. and sandwiching it all between a bagel thin.  When I was a kid, my parents made sausage burgers all the time in the summer.  They were so greasy and sat in your stomach for days, but they did taste pretty darn good.  This burger tastes pretty much exactly the way I remember those, except without that heavy animal fat to stick to your ribs.  It’s definitely summer when I hear them sizzling away.

I’ve also been working, but the lack of homework and more serious responsibilities mean that I’m able to have some fun, relax, and not stress about how much stuff I can cram in to one day.

This afternoon I’m going to head out to Schenley Park, read through Chelsea Handler’s My Horizontal Life, and then head to the gym for an easy elliptical session.  Then I’ll probably make a smoothie with the new blender we got from Costco yesterday ($30 – and it actually crushes ice in seconds!), watch some TV, and chill with my roommates.   Not too shabby.

How have you been spending these kickoff days of summer?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 2:01 pm

    SO. MUCH. FLANNEL.

    Hey, my boyfriend is from vermont, too, and he doesn’t own a single piece of flannel. I don’t think you can use the state for a blanket excuse like that…. ;)

  2. May 25, 2010 5:28 pm

    Haha, I wish I could pull off flannel :). As for the kittens… oh my freaking gosh! They are ADORABLE. And that means a lot coming from anything but a cat person ;) so cute! Enjoy the beginnings of summer!

  3. May 25, 2010 7:50 pm

    ok, guilty as charged. I guess I don’t have much of an excuse. they’re pretty much my substitute for sweatshirts when I want to wear something soft and cozy.

  4. May 25, 2010 9:26 pm

    I love flannel but, then again, I was born in Vermont.

    I usually kick off summer with a vengeance, but I’ve been easing into it A) because the weather is too mild and B) because I am pretty sleepy. Good time for cat cuddling, though mine aren’t quite so young and adorable.

  5. May 25, 2010 9:28 pm

    Aww, what adorable kittens!! So nice of you to give them a temporary home- I’d definitely become attached! Lately, I’ve been doing a whole lot of nothing and absolutely loving it. My internship starts next week, so I’d better enjoy it while I can!!

Leave a Reply

