Skip to content

❝ I’ve never met a person I couldn’t call a beauty ❞

June 7, 2010

Andy Warhol, from The Philosophy of Andy Warhol (Frome A to B and Back Again)

I’ve been pretty sick for the past week (seriously, who gets awful colds in June? People who party too much over Memorial Day weekend, I guess.), but it’s given me plenty of time to do nothing, clear my head, and really appreciate the mundane.

I’ve been tearing through this book that I picked up at The Warhol last week (got to love my 20% museum employee discount) and I feel like I’m underlining every other sentence.  Andy Warhol was strange, brilliant, and oddly perceptive about all aspects of life.  Expect plenty of gems from him to appear in the future.

While it has sucked to actually be too sick to really leave the house during my sick days off from work, it’s meant that I’m being rather productive.  In addition to reading, I’ve reorganized a corner of my closet – it’s HUGE but has awful lighting.

Don’t even pretend that this doesn’t make you happy.  I will never have a problem finding a tank ever again.

I’ve also seen a ridiculous amount of movies.  I never have the time/attention span to watch feature films during the school year, but I’ve found myself with a bowl of popcorn and our tiny TV screen many times over the past 7 days.

A sampling:

  • The Lovely Bones nowhere near as good as the book.
  • Inglorious Basterds brilliant and disturbing.  Tarantino can do no wrong.
  • The Informant Matt Damon is a big fat liar in 90s-style glasses.  they don’t do him any good.
  • Star Trek hot people saving the planet and I have a major girl crush on Zoe Saldana.
  • Sex and the City 2 I love my ladies too much to say something too harsh.
  • New Moon I’ve never seen or read anything else related to Twilight, but I appreciate good abs.
  • Up In the Air I loved the book and I love George Clooney.  The aerial shots were awesome.
  • Nine A boring Chicago.  The ladies were seriously the best part – who knew Kate or Penelope could sing?
  • Sunshine Cleaners kind of morbid but I can forgive John Krasinski for wanting to marry Emily Blunt
  • I Love You, Man surprisingly really good. I love a good bromance.
  • Precious sweet Jesus, this made me appreciate my life.  Watch this ASAP!
  • Alice in Wonderland I never want to spend time in Tim Burton’s head, although I loved Alice’s hair.

When I woke up this morning, I could actually breathe out of my nose and could see these leaves glowing outside my window.  Despite the fact that it was 8:15 am and today is my day off, I saw it as a sign, jumped out of bed, and ate a giant pretzel for breakfast.  Yup, I’m appreciating the mundane, seeing the beauty in everything and everyone, and am rather happy at the moment.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 3:06 pm

    Sorry you’ve been so sick! Ugh. But at least you’ve cleaned… I’m not usually that productive when I’m under the weather.

    I’ve seen all of those movies except Inglourious Basterds and The Informant… both have been on “long wait” on my Netflix queue since they came out on DVD. GRR!

  2. June 7, 2010 7:34 pm

    I got sick in mid May, which isn’t much better than mid June…hang in there! At least you’re getting some quality movie time in there- and I feel the exact same way about New Moon. By the way, want to come organize my closet for me? Feel better soon!

  3. June 7, 2010 7:53 pm

    that is some seriously intense closet organization

  4. June 8, 2010 2:41 pm

    I’ve been having some bad wisdom tooth and ulcer problems…but I think they’re a bit better now? I’m starting to appreciate just a regular mouth now too! Sorry you’ve been sick…hope you are much better!

    Loved the quote though! I see beauty in the mundane stuff as well, and it makes life so much more appreciable!

Leave a Reply

