Skip to content

a first & a last

July 19, 2010

this weekend was rather epic.  not surprising at all, though, considering it was one of my best friend’s 21st birthday on Saturday.

Friday’s activities began with a gallery crawl through Pittsburgh’s cultural district.  cheap food at the culinary institute, amazing photography displays, and all of the wonderful downtown architecture made for a really interesting time.

then I came home, ate, showered, and started an evening that I don’t quite remember.  shots are not your friend, even on someone’s 21st birthday.  actually, especially not on such a momentous occasion.

luckily, I don’t have photographic evidence of that ridiculous night.  there are some videos on my friends camera of me doing some new dance moves that I’m not sure will be included in my regular rotation.

a first: a small gathering at our new apartment, complete with party blowers and baklava.

and honestly, none of each even toughed that handle or box of Franzia.  the previous night was just a little too fresh in all of our minds.

we then took cabs to South Side and proceeded to dance for several hours.  the boys weren’t too creepy, we didn’t get too tipsy, and we definitely sweated out all of the alcohol that had been in our systems from before.

a last: I have no more weekends in Pittsburgh until classes start.  I was kind of shocked to realize that I’ll be away in New York this weekend, and then going home for 16 days after that.  by the time I return, everyone else will have found their way back to campus, ready to party before we start living in the library.

so this weekend was fun but exhausting, and not something that I need to relive any time in the near future.

have you had any big firsts?  lasts? as summer comes to an end there is just so much that still needs to done!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 6:36 pm

    This sounds like the absolute perfect way to spend a 21st. Friends, good food, (a little) overindulgence… and your new apartment has a patio?!

  2. July 20, 2010 1:22 am

    What an amazing weekend! I don’t like to think of things this way right now (since I’m nostalgically fragile) but summer is certainly an exciting time.

    P.S. We should hang out when I’m in Pittsburgh, I feel like you know how to show a girl a good time ;)

  3. July 20, 2010 3:40 am

    Your weekend sounds great — sometimes the best nights are the ones you don’t really remember! And shots are DEFINITELY not my friend. Yet they always seems to weasel their way into my life Thursday nights…oy.

  4. July 20, 2010 5:48 pm

    That sounds like an amazing 21st birthday. Sometimes you just know that the nights you don’t remember are the best ones. Your posts recently have made me regret not exploring Pittsburgh more while I was there. I was pretty miserable in the cold, but some of these places to eat and things to see I really would have loved!

  5. July 21, 2010 7:57 pm

    well, we live on the 2nd floor so it’s technically a balcony. I am in love with it though – I’ve been eating out on it and it has the loveliest breeze!

  6. July 21, 2010 7:58 pm

    Definitely! When will you be here? Shoot me an email and we’ll plan out something incredible!

Leave a Reply

