Skip to content

hitting the books

September 15, 2010

one bad thing about being a humanities student now rather than engineering is all of the ridiculous reading that must transpire in a given night.  the page count usually tops 100, and it could be on anything from sweet potato farming to Salem witch trial testimonies.  not that I’m really complaining, but it’s putting a serious dent in the reading that I like to do: magazines!

for over 10 years now, I’ve subscribed to a number of paper reads.  I’ll never switch to electronic – I just enjoy flipping page after page of beautiful spreads and interesting interviews way too much.

some of my favorites:

Nylon

Teen Vogue

Elle

Vogue

W

Newsweek

Ready Made

Real Simple

Glamour

Cosmopolitan

Interview

…and yes, I subscribe to most of them.  however, I figure I save money because I’m not impulsively grabbing stacks of them at the checkout and paying $5+ for just one issue.

what are your monthly reads? and do you still like to buy the printed edition?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 5:19 pm

    I would never switch to electronic, either! It must be the page flipping that is so enticing….
    Some of mine are:
    Everyday Food
    Whole Living
    Vogue
    Elle
    Russia Magazine
    and maybe a couple of others, but I usually just pick up what looks good for the month.

    :)

  2. September 17, 2010 5:41 pm

    I love reading magazines…it just feels so indulgent and relaxed! Favorites: Cosmo, Allure, Runner’s World and Time.

  3. September 20, 2010 2:06 pm

    When needing to pass the time, or on mellow weekend days….I enjoy nothing more than purchasing a latte and flipping through the glossy pages of a favorite magazine! So relaxing and fun.

    My go-tos are usually glamour, elle, marie claire, vogue & us weekly (for celeb gossip trashh)…I seriously wish I subscribed to more magazines, but they’d totally get lost (or taken) at the soror house. Mail is never something to trust here, haha! Ahh, it’ll be another perk once I finally live in an apartment!

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

