Skip to content

fall is my favorite

October 10, 2010

this weekend was magical.

it officially started on Thursday night with the usual drunk dancing at Peter’s.

that morphed into Friday, when my phone took a tumble into the toilet.  gross AND unfortunate.  luckily, I have insurance on my phone.  I think that this is my 6th in 3 years.

a quick trip to Squirrel Hill’s Verizon store and I now have a new one (same model) on the way.  I’m really glad that I now have a store less than a 10 minute walk away from my house.  I used to have to take a really long bus ride whenever this used to happen.

once that got taken care of, we went on a wonderful road trip to Simmons Farm.  I’m not sure exactly where it is, but it was 70+ degrees and sunny.  I could’ve ridden in a car with the windows down all day and not had a care in the world.

it felt so good to get out of the city and see some rolling hills.  the other night I was ranting about how I was just craving foliage.  I’m not sure if my friends quite understood what this Vermonter was going on and on about, but I dearly miss the bright orange and red hills that surround my home.

rather than just buying a peck at the little store, I insisted that we go out into the orchard and pick our own.  I stand by the statement that there is NOTHING worse than a sub par apple, and I wanted to pluck the most crisp specimens from the tree myself.

there are few things that I love more than crunching leaves underfoot, eating salty food, and fresh apple cider.  so it goes without saying that fall is my favorite.

 

 

do you agree?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 8:10 am

    There’s a Verizon store in Squirrel Hill? Bahh I remember waiting an hour to take that bus (forget what it was) in January once when it was SO COLD. Not fun!

    Apples are definitely one of my favorite parts of fall. We have some local ones right now!

  2. October 11, 2010 11:27 pm

    beautiful photos! the apples and the leaves picture makes me wish that texas isn’t so blazingly hot right now!!!

    in her stilettos-an austin fashion blog

Leave a Reply

