Skip to content

study break

October 12, 2010

this weekend is midsemester break.  it’s exciting to get one whole day off (CMU is really generous), but the week leading up to it is painful in every sense of the word.  I am physically and mentally drained and I can’t stop eating Cocoa Puffs.

I have logged far too many hours here at my desk, but soon enough I will be in New York!  I am going to visit my sister in CT this Friday and then staying with my good friend from high school on Saturday, and to get there I am taking a bus into the city.  My sister and I will be wandering into restaurants, bars, Forever 21, and who knows what else from about 3 pm to 9 pm, and this is where I need a little help:

do you guys have any good ideas about veg-friendly restaurants near Penn Station?

we’re both vegetarians and my sister is lactose-intolerant.  and we both live for delicious food.

also, do you know of any good dive bars in that area?

I’m 21 but my sister is a year or two short of the required drinking age.  I know that it’s pretty easy to get served as a minor, but does anyone have a good suggestion of a not too sketchy place where we can have some good girl talk?

OK, I am going to get back to cramming for my history exam tomorrow.  the American Revolution has never seemed so daunting…

also, check out my style page!  I added some of my current inspiration.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 9:56 pm

    Veg-friendly restaurants: if you’re into Indian, the “Curry Hill” area has amazing, super cheap Indian food (around 28th to 34th, 6th to Lex-ish). Blossom is also amazing- 22nd and 9th, a bit farther from Penn but totally worth it!

    Bars: There’s a lot in Chelsea that are really lax on IDs. I love Bar Veloce on 20th and 7th- it’s a really cozy little wine bar. Another great wine bar is Cocoa V, which is actually owned by Blossom and has delicious vegan chocolates and some tapas, but it’s pricey. If it’s a nice day, you have to go to the Frying Pan- it’s literally a boat on the Hudson docked at 26th that never cards and has amazing views of the city. Peter McManus is another cute little pub/dive bar on 19th and 7th that I’ve never been carded in.

    I just wrote you a book haha. But I hope that helps!!

  2. October 12, 2010 10:00 pm

    thanks so much! I will definitely use some of these suggestions. I’m ready for a solid wine buzz and a happy Indian food baby.

  3. October 13, 2010 2:21 pm

    i hope you have a lovely trip! i would suggest Pure Food & Wine or Candle Cafe, both i think are vegan and i’ve heard great things.

  4. October 16, 2010 1:43 am

    ughh definitely felt that way last week. thankfully the wave in its ebbs and flows evens out every now and again which means u’ll feel better soon- after some good TLC and relaxation. enjoy the break..well study breaks arent too fun, but the break part is <3 hehe

Leave a Reply

