Skip to content

change of plans

October 17, 2010

on Thursday, I slaved away on my paper.  I was well-caffeinated and very excited for my weekend away.

after 3 hours of sleep on Thursday night, my bags were packed and I was ready to go.

alas, the Pittsburgh Yellow Cab Co. had other plans for me.  my bus left downtown at 7 am.  since it was dark and I wasn’t 100% sure where the terminal was, I opted to order a cab to take me.  I was assured that one would be here at 6:15.  I woke up at 5:30 (after 3 hours of sleep) and got dressed.  at 6:05, I was sent a text that said that a cab was definitely on its way.  I was standing on the sidewalk at 6:12.  At 6:20 I became concerned that the cab driver was still wandering through Pittsburgh, so I called the company to make sure he had the right address.  I was told that he actually decided not to come.

WHAT?

and they weren’t going to tell me and hadn’t told anyone else to get on the job.

they said that someone else would be over immediately.

at 6:40, it had started to rain and I was still stranded in the dark on the curb.  I called again.  they said that no one was on the way and that no one was nearby.  I called all of the drivers who have given me their cards over the past few months of late nights.  no one answered.

definite low point.

at 6:55, I knew that there was no way I was making the bus and I was not going on this trip.  I went inside and ate the peanut butter and banana sandwich that I had packed for breakfast.

after a few initial tears of frustration and several angry texts to the people I would not be visiting, I decided that I was going to make the most of my weekend of freedom.  I had done all of my work for the next few days and had zero plans or obligations.  I don’t even remember the last time this happened.

I am a huge believer in making the best out of any situation.  yeah, sometimes life sucks.  often, things don’t go as you would like.  but if it’s out of your control, you may as well do what you can to have a good time.  deal with it.

so I caught up on my TV shows that I’d missed over the past two weeks, made my sister a birthday card, and tie-dyed.  I ate some fabulous meals, went to see The Social Network, and got myself a pretty bottle of wine.

I lit some candles, listened to Joss Stone, Skyped with my sister, and then hung out with some friends who were still around.

I know how to roll with the punches.

the rest of my weekend included NYLON reading (my favorite magazine ever), watching Almost Famous (my favorite movie ever), several loads of laundry, a wonderful run in the park, and stumbling upon a sale on Diet Coke.

this morning I woke up, ate oats in a jar, and am now watching Roman Holiday.

and I still have the whole day ahead of me.

I’ll admit that a few bad things happened this weekend (my new phone died and I had a really traumatic walk home by myself the other night) but I’m focusing on the fabulous and wonderful things that this weekend has held for me.  I’m all caught up on sleep and in the middle of a Chelsea Handler book.  life is good.

 

what would you do with an absolutely open weekend?

and how do you deal with setbacks?  do you let the bad things in life get you down?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 8:37 am

    i’m sorry for that mixup :( what an idiot cab driver, who just ‘decides not to come’ ?!?! it sounds like you’ve made the best of the situation though; your weekend sounds sooo nice! i saw ‘ the social network ‘ last week. my favorite part were the Winklevoss (Winklevii!) twins, lollll

    & that bottle of wine looks so perfectly autumnal next to that pumpkin :)

    <3

  2. October 18, 2010 8:50 am

    Ugh, what a bummer. How can the cab just decide not to come without getting in trouble with the company? That sucks :( At least you had a good, relaxing weekend though- I wish I had the motivation to get stuff done early so I could just enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

