Skip to content

for my mental health

October 28, 2010
tags: ,

I’m not quite sure when it started, but stress has definitely come back into my life in a way that only CMU can enforce.

I’ve started skipping classes so that I can do work for other classes.

I haven’t hung out with my roommates for 3 weeks.  and when I say hung out, I mean spoken with them for more than 3 minutes a day.

my nails went unpainted for 2 whole days. this hasn’t happened in years.  my pale little fingers felt so, so naked.

I had no food.  I was eating oatmeal and frozen broccoli.

I wear what’s already on my bedroom floor.  I have a shopping addiction and a very full closet, so there is no need for this kind of behavior.

I get a pounding headache if I don’t have caffeine every 2 hours.

I do readings for class on my walk to campus.  I almost fall flat on my face several times a day.

.

so, needless to say, I needed to take a break.  mostly so that I didn’t go completely insane.

On Wednesday, I…

  • smashed a boiling mug of hot tea all over my bedroom floor.  I left it there to deal with later.
  • slipped on the last few of our wet front steps.  some guy watched the whole thing.  I would’ve appreciated it if he’d asked if I was OK.
  • was late for work.
  • didn’t listen to my American culture lecture since I was preparing for my presentation in the next class.
  • didn’t bring enough food for lunch.
  • skipped my last class of the day.  watched The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills, gave myself a manicure, and eat peanut butter out of the jar.
  • restocked depleted grocery stores.
  • got caught up on Gossip Girl.
  • ate my first acorn squash of the season.
  • got my ass kicked in an awesome vinyasa flow class.  my arms feel sore in the best possible way today.
  • was in bed before midnight.

I didn’t do any homework.  My room is still kind of a mess.  But, damn it, I needed a break.  And I am now having the most relaxing morning (I may have skipped that class that I didn’t do the reading for…).

 

How devoted are you to your own mental health?

Are you willing to take a break so that you don’t go insane,

even if it means missing out on an awesome

discussion about pollution in the Yellow River?

oh, and I took out my colored pencils and drew this little gem.

happy fall!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 1:15 pm

    Taking those necessary breaks is definitely worth it! So very necessary for our mental health..yes :)

    I’m sorry you’ve been having such a rough time lately– but, good food, fresh nails, tv -time, and rest are some of the best ways to mentally re-charge!

    Hope you can go out and have some fun this weekend! And how good was gossip girl this week? That, and a bowl of a warmed, mashed sweet potato with carob chips and almond butter made for a perfect little get-away from studying last night! I just love that show.

    XOXOX

  2. October 28, 2010 1:50 pm

    Mental health = necessary. I’m way more likely to take days off because I feel burnt out mentally than because I’m physically sick. Sometimes it’s just necessary, and I feel like most profs understand the occasional random absence because of it. Glad you gave yourself some me time!!

  3. October 28, 2010 9:08 pm

    Sorry you’ve been having a tough time. I’ve had so many of those days, and college can definitely exacerbate an already stressful situation and make it seem so much worse. Good for you for recognizing it! It’s SO okay to take time off.

    Virtual hug!

Leave a Reply

