Skip to content

seitan assistance

November 3, 2010

I’ve been meaning to try and make seitan for quite some time now.  I think I purchased all of the necessary ingredients at least 6 months ago, but I have just never gotten around to it.

on Tuesday morning, I overslept.  since there was no I way I was going to make my way to class on time, I decided to do something productive and try to make Veganomicon’s Simple Seitan.

this is where it got kind of messy.

I’m pretty sure I followed the directions 100%, but the result was a soppy ball of goo.  It tasted delicious, but it was lacking that slightly chewy texture that I look forward to when I order seitan at a restaurant or pick it up from Whole Foods.

do you have any experience cooking seitan?  is there a secret to getting that texture right?  or should I look for other recipes?

I will say that this seitan tasted delicious.  I ate it in a stir fry one day and baked it the next.  any other recommended ways for eating it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 6:52 pm

    I’ve never made seitan, but I do have a bag of vital wheat gluten in my cabinet. The concept just scares me!

  2. November 5, 2010 1:13 am

    Miss Elise from hungry hungry hippie seems to have perfected the home-made seitan! check her blog/tutorial out and let me know how it goes!!

    But a least the taste worked out, right?? That’s really the most important part :)

  3. November 26, 2010 10:13 pm

    oh my goodness what is that cookbook i want it!? and seitan scares me a bit so i wouldn’t feel bad that you ended up with a soppy ball of goo. i say bravo ;)

Leave a Reply

