Skip to content

addict

April 2, 2011

Hi, my name is Anna, and I am addicted to caffeine.

I didn’t think it was so bad.  I make a couple of cups in the morning in my little coffee maker, throw 2 packets of Splenda in, and bring it all in my travel mug to get me through my 9 am class.  I may refill at work, and I may get another small cup sometime in the afternoon for a treat.  if I have soda in the fridge, I’ll pour myself a nice, cold glass of diet Coke to have with dinner.

and everything was fine.

everything was fine until I didn’t start my day with my usual jolt of caffeine.  we were out of coffee filters, and my roommate had done something with our French press.  I figured that I could wait an hour or two until I got to work and could fill up for free.

within twenty minutes of starting my day, my head started to throb.  it pounded.  it hurt in a way that meant one thing: I needed caffeine.  and even though I eventually got my fix, my pain lingered all day, and no amount of ibuprofen or water could make it go away.

I have a problem.

I would prefer to not be addicted to anything, really.  I don’t want to live my life with a chemical dependence.  but chai tea just doesn’t do it for me.  green tea doesn’t jump-start my day.  it’s only a few shots of espresso that can get me ready to face the world, and if I don’t get my morning fix, you had better stay out of the way.

as a college student, I don’t see any easy solutions in the near future.  without my daily cup(s), I will definitely start sleeping in class and spend my days in a half-awake stupor.  I need solid amounts of caffeine to maintain my QPA.

so for now, I am going to recognize that I have a problem but not do anything about it.  maybe once summer rolls around and I get the chance to sleep a little more I’ll reduce my intake to one cup a day.  maybe.

image source

are you addicted to caffeine?

have you ever been?

do you have any recommendations for getting off the sauce?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 2:00 pm

    I definitely have a small caffeine addiction, but I’ve weaned myself way off of what it used to be. I was never a coffee drinker, but I used to suck down Coke Zero like it was my JOB. (I still drink it occasionally, but I don’t think that multiple 20 oz bottles a day was healthy, obviously.) My tip? Weak tea. I just buy plain black generic tea bags, let them steep for about a minute, add stevia and lemon, and I’m good. It’s perfect because there’s a little bit of caffeine to alleviate the headache, but not enough to really get you going.

  2. Emily permalink
    April 2, 2011 6:18 pm

    I have been addicted to caffeine! You feel horrible the first day or two, but then it gets much, much better!

    If you don’t want to go cold turkey, you could always decrease the amounts gradually– have one caffeinated cup, then one decaf. Or drink a latte or cappuccino in the morning instead of a strong coffee- then go to half caff, then decaf. Hope that helps! :)

Leave a Reply

