Skip to content

history

April 25, 2011

tonight I had my final history of photography class.  we viewed a few last presentations and then took our final exam.  I am actually really sad that this class is over.  this class traced the history and evolution of the medium since World War II, and I found it to be fascinating.  each 3 hour class was riveting, the readings were interesting, and the exams were easy because I actually knew the information.

I’ve taken a  lot of classes over my 3 1/2 year collegiate career, and this is one of the only courses that I will actually miss attending every week.  when I was a civil engineer, I spent a lot of time in classes that I really didn’t like. homework was incredibly painful, I hated reading my textbooks, and I couldn’t stay awake in any of my classes.  I was miserably scraping my way through my undergraduate career.  after 4 semesters of calculus, physics, programming, and chemistry classes, I realized that my heart wasn’t really in engineering and switched to the humanities.

I know that my time in hell/engineering was necessary for me to figure out what I really want to do with my life, but I do think that I missed out on some really amazing classes and experiences.  I’m just finishing up with my required courses now, and I wish that I could have explored more at school.  I could have a minor or even a double major that I really enjoy and could use in my job search.

I’m not one to dwell, so I’m just going to remember how much I loved this class and make a point to continue to study photography on my own time.  I will learn how to use my Canon Rebel better than I do now,  I will continue to follow some amazing photographers, and I will remember how nice it is to learn about a subject that actually excites me.

have you changed your academic path?  do you regret doing it?  can you look back and wish that you had changed majors?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

