Skip to content

coffee talk

May 15, 2011

this weekend I was lucky enough to go visit my sister at college.  she goes to a small liberal arts school, and I was really intrigued to see where she’s spending her time and meet a few of her friends.  we ate a few good meals, drank plenty of coffee, and were really able to catch up over everything that has gone down for both of us since we last saw each other in January.

my mom had a framed quote in my bathroom when I was little –

Chance made us sisters, hearts made us friends

now that my sister and I no longer live together, I think we’ve gotten a million times closer.  we don’t bicker over those stupid little things like we used to.  we may argue about which type of wine to share with dinner, but we appreciate the advice, jokes, and genuine care that we share with each other.  even though we are awful at Skyping, we have no problem texting random thoughts to each other at all hours of the night or day.  we know and understand things about each other that absolutely no one else can, and while we can get a little intense at times, it’s because we are so close and there is little to no filter (at least on my end).

so while I had to drive a total of 8 hours in my parents’ minivan to get to her, I would do it again in a heartbeat to have that special kind of coffee talk that only sisters can have.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

