Skip to content

by the numbers

May 27, 2011

[source]

last night I was chatting with a boy at a bar, and he started asking me about my test scores.  you know, the big ones: the SAT and ACT.  4 years ago, my exact totals were seared into my memory.  I knew my percentiles and subject test scores by heart.  maybe it was because of the Long Island iced tea I was holding, but I could not for the life of me recall my scores.  and right now, writing this, I can’t remember them either.

I think it is so funny that something that I once valued so highly and was such a part of my being is now out of my head.  I took those tests very seriously, mostly because I knew I was an excellent test taker and needed good scores to go to the school of my dreams.  I didn’t take any test prep courses, but I took many practice tests on my own and really committed myself to mastering those bubble sheets.

it’s a good thing, though.  I was way too serious about grades, numbers, and percentages in high school, and I really didn’t allow myself to have as much fun as I deserved.  I got what I worked for, though, and now I can look back and see what else got me into college.  I am way more than a spread sheet of numbers, and even perfect scores don’t guarantee success anymore.  I’m not defined by my math, verbal, or written scores, and my successes and failures as a person come from a place other than College Board.

I don’t have a problem looking my scores up and enjoying that happy, satisfied feeling again.  there is still a little piece of overachiever left in me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 3:22 am

    Oh my gosh, this is too funny, because I was exactly the same way. And while I remembered them after a moment of thought, they’re definitely numbers that will fade completely as I get older. I took 8 SATs (4 regular, 4 subjects), and I look back on it and ask myself…why? It was miserable, and contrary to popular belief, going to the best school that you can get into academically does not make you a better, or even happier, person. Everyone ends up just fine, regardless of where they range in the SAT percentiles or whether they went to an Ivy League school.

  2. May 28, 2011 6:04 pm

    oh SATs.. i took them twice and the ACT once. i went back and forth between freezing up during the 25-minute time period intervals or reaching a state of zen concentration and actually enjoying it. my math score was horrible, but i was pretty proud of reading and verbal!

    congratulations on graduating :)

  3. May 28, 2011 6:04 pm

    lol at my avatar ;P

Leave a Reply

