Skip to content

a farewell to Pittsburgh

July 3, 2011

I am now safely back at my parents’ house in Vermont, but I had one last crazy week in Pittsburgh before I moved.  my younger sister came a few days before my lease ended to help me pack, clean, and explore the city before we headed back to rural New England.

Monday

we started with an early lunch at Over The Bar Cafe in South Side.  I had a Groupon for it, and I wanted to make sure I was able to use it while I was still in town.  I got to try my first fried pickle, which they served with Thai peanut sauce.  I’d heard amazing things about their seitan ‘wings’ and we decided to try a double order with BBQ sauce.  the chef who makes the sauces was actually chilling outside near where we were sitting, and his recommendation to try this particular sauce was a good one.  it also came with really, really good toasted pita bread.  I’m a little bummed that I won’t be able to come back here anytime soon.

we shopped around South Side for a little bit (I’m going to miss H&M and Forever 21) and then we went to go see Bad Teacher.  I liked it a lot.  It was really funny and kind of raunchy.  I actually found myself really disliking Justin Timberlake’s character, which I didn’t even think was possible.  it’s rated R, and there was a large group of 8 – 13 year old kids in the back of the theater.  there was plenty of nudity and more mature content throughout the film, and I bet their chaperones were kicking themselves for not realizing what the movie was about (Cameron’s quest for breast implants) before purchasing a bunch of tickets.  their reactions were really funny, though, and I’m glad that they were really grossed out by most of the jokes.

don’t we look so much alike?

Tuesday

on Tuesday we went to Target (another store I’ll miss when I’m in Vermont) and after doing minimal damage to my wallet, we went to Gran Agave, a Mexican restaurant at the Waterfront.  I’d never been there before, but we were greeted with a warm basket of freshly fried chips and I was instantly won over.  I had a pretty good vegetarian taco salad and my sister had a tasty dish of enchilladas verdes.

our next stop was the Carnegie Museum of Art and Natural History.  it’s always great to wander through these exhibits with my sister because we share a lot of the same interests but have our own unique perspectives and facts to discuss.  staring at a Renoir can make us go on a million different tangents.  for example, we talked about the food in this still life for way too long.

Wednesday

on Wednesday morning we went to the new Pamela’s Diner in Squirrel Hill.  I’ve been taking guests here for the past 4 years, and while my veggie egg white omelet wasn’t the most flavorful omelet I’ve ever had, my toast and our shared short stack of hotcakes made up for it.

after ingesting enough caffeine, we set off to visit The Andy Warhol Museum in the North Side.  I’d been there once before, and while Warhol’s work is always so fascinating to look at, there were some other really awesome exhibits.  there was a display of a Tarot deck reinterpreted by famous artists, designers, photographers, and other creative individuals.  I have to remember that going to a museum just once is never going to cut it.  there’s always something new to see and learn about.

for dinner on Wednesday evening, we went to Lucci’s, one of the best pizza places in Pittsburgh, and got a small Greek pizza and a six pack of Bud Light Lime to share.  after an afternoon of heavy lifting and packing, nothing in the whole world could have tasted so good.

Thursday was spent packing, cleaning, arguing, laughing, and being ridiculous.  we got on the road 7 hours later than we had originally planned and rolled onto the Lake Champlain Ferry at 5 am after 11 hours of driving.  you don’t want to hear about that whole experience…

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

