Skip to content

facing the music: Osheaga 2011

August 1, 2011

my weekend at the 6th annual Osheaga music festival in Montreal, QC was full of everything I could have possibly wanted in a summer adventure: hot musicians, amazing shows, cold beer, hours of dancing, and fried food.  we saw a total of 26 acts over 2 days and were pretty much blown away by everyone, from small acts like Smith Westerns and Hey Rosetta! to big names like Death Cab for Cutie, The Sounds, and Cypress Hill.

Montreal itself is a big mess of construction detours, but we maneuvered our way around the city to stay at a really nice Sheraton hotel for the night.  after a relaxing swim in their saltwater pool the next morning, we watched French cartoons and then carb-loaded at Ben & Florentine, a Canadian chain with amazing crepes and several different kinds of egg benedicts.  our second day at  the festival was just as exciting and exhausting as the first, and it all wrapped up with an acid trip-inspired performance of The Flaming Lips.

even though I spent way too much money on overpriced parking, food, and drinks, I would do it all again in a heartbeat.  the memories and inspiring performances will last much longer than the ringing in my ears, and maybe someday I’ll remember to bring earplugs so that I can rock out a little more responsibly.

[I was in love with this girl’s Dooney & Bourke retro satchel]

[poutine – a Canadian dish of french fries, fried cheese curds, and gravy]

[Eels was hairier and older than I had imagined]

[Bright Eyes]

[my sister’s festival style on the 2nd day

[my pool accessories – I’ve had this bikini top since middle school]

[my brother’s necessities: oxford shirt, Loonies, and Fossil wallet]

[The Jungle Book is much better in French]

[my scrambled eggs with sundried tomatoes, asparagus, mushrooms, and onions & plenty of homefries]

[our shared crepe, stuffed with nutella, strawberries, and bananas, with a side of English cream]

[my brother got it all – eggs, ham, bacon, sausage, applesauce, toast, french toast, homefries, and a little something called cretons]

[my sister’s veggie omelet]

[we did work]

[The Sounds were AMAZING]

[rockstar parents]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

