Skip to content

copenhagen street style

August 2, 2011

now that my semester abroad in Copenhagen starts in just 18 very short days, I am starting to think about what I’ll need to pack for my journey.  my study abroad advisor recommended to not pack everything in my closet (obviously) but that most kids actually end up buying totally new wardrobes while they are abroad (what?!).  since I’m looking to spend more money on delicious Danish pastries and airfare to travel across Europe than on yet another striped shirt, I decided to do a little research and see what the Danes are wearing now so that I don’t feel too out of place.

some quick googling led me to Copenhagen StreetStyle, which has since stopped updating its pictures, The Locals, The Street Fashion Monitor, and Cycle Chic.  they seem to favor classic shapes and colors and layering, which makes sense because the climate is pretty mild and the city is very traditional.  at least that’s what I’ve gathered from reading Culture Shock! Denmark.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 7:47 am

    18 days already? The summer has seriously flown by. I love the girl with the printed skirt and the quilted bag- normally that pattern would look frumpy, but on her it just looks unique.

  2. August 3, 2011 9:47 am

    I spent the fall of 2008 studying abroad in Copenhagen…I actually bought a lot of clothes from H&M there (not as cheap as US H&Ms) which I haven’t worn since. But as the weather got colder, it was a lot of leggings, boots, big tunic sweaters and scarves…very urban-chic. Reminded me a little of NYC, which is where my other urban-winter experience is.

Leave a Reply

