Skip to content

jean paul gaultier @ the montreal museum of fine arts

August 6, 2011

 

 

 

this week I traveled up to Montreal to visit the MFA and see the new Jean Paul Gaultier exhibit.  living in Vermont, I’ve been rather limited in my exposure to haute couture, and I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to see such groundbreaking and breathtaking pieces with my own two eyes.

I’ve been flipping through Vogue, Harpar’s Bazaar, and many other fashion magazines for over a decade now, so I was familiar with Gaultier and his work.  I’d pondered purchasing a few of his pieces when he did his collaboration with Target and I’d seen pictures of Madonna wearing his risque cone bras and corsets.  despite my familiarity, I was totally unprepared for his amazing attention to detail, experimentation with sexual identity, and avant garde proportions.  his Parisian roots were very present and the inspiration he drew from punk rock was quite obvious, but I was pleasantly surprised by his incorporation of creative materials and ethnic influences — a bag woven out of palm fronds, a brilliantly white headdress.  only after seeing truly beautiful pieces such as these can you grasp the real value of an $11,000 masterpiece of a dress.

the exhibit will be in Montreal through October 2nd of this year, and then all 140 pieces will travel to other cities across the continent and the world.  if you have the chance to see it, I highly recommend that you do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

