Skip to content

missing things

August 31, 2011

 

image via Tumblr

when I was packing for Copenhagen, I tried really, really hard to fit my life into 2 big pieces of luggage and 2 carry-ons.  I was successful in this endeavor, but 10 days into my experience abroad, there are a few things that I wish I had brought instead of 12 pairs of black pants (seriously, I have all possible versions of leggings, yoga pants, etc.).

I really miss my watercolors, my sketchbooks, my oil pastels, and Mod-Podge.  I wish I had packed my yoga mat.  I want to wear my perfectly worn-in denim cut-offs and my super thick Carnegie Mellon sweatpants that I have to roll 3 times so they fit.  I want to eat real peanut butter and an entire tub of hummus with pretzels.

while this city is fabulous, with it’s army of chic bikers and well designed kitchenware, I do miss my little corner of Vermont, my friends and the streets of Pittsburgh, and little American comforts that you can’t pack in a suitcase.

 

does anyone want to send me a care package? :)

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Caitlin Jane permalink
    August 31, 2011 6:59 pm

    Ill send you an american care package if you send me a copenhagen care package? ;)

  2. September 1, 2011 10:01 am

    i know what you mean. whenever i travel i either, overpack ridiculously and feel all weighed-down and inconvenienced, or say, i don’t care! and go minimal and then wish i had this and this . i imagine you’d come to miss a lot of your home when away for so long. maybe you could purchase a couple makeshift comforts, like a sketchbook? or some peanut butter :)

    i love novelty and traveling and new places, but at some point i always miss home, routine, my stuff. even after complaining at home how bored and stale i feel!

    you have your camera though right? if it was me i would take lots and lots of pictures, because that is something very familiar.

    i love that watercolor.

  3. September 3, 2011 6:01 am

    for real? because I’d totally be up for an exchange! email me if you’re interested — akeller 7 @ gmail . com

Leave a Reply

